Book Review · painting

Unfurling: a creative bookshare, no.2

I’ve been taking advantage of Christmas break to play in the studio. It’s been fun practicing sketching and shading. It not only exercises your hands but your eyes! Amazing how we draw what we want to see instead of what is actually there.

Today I started the portrait painting. I used a picture of my Mia and ended up with this rough sketch.



Believe me, I thought it was ugly, too! A good tip that is in the book is to keep going when it seems unsalvagable. It’s all about the layers!!

 While it doesn’t at all resemble my Mia (maybe 50 years later), I am pleasantly surprised at how much better it turned out than I thought it would. Not my forte but I love pushing myself out of my comfort zone. Gotta have the courage to push past the ugly!

Leave a Reply

