inspiring sites

the art and business of surface pattern design.

For the past several weeks, I have enjoyed taking an introductory course on surface pattern design. I stumbled on it when I was searching for craft business mentoring, craft related retreats, creative seminars- something, I was searching for something. I have been feeling a lack of focus on where I am headed with my business and creative direction. I came across Make It in Design’s Design School page. I researched it obsessively, looking at past alumni and everything they had to offer. I was hoping it would offer me an opportunity to put all of my creative energy into one place and let me be creative again with blinders on, so to speak. And that is exactly what it did for me.

It took a back to basics approach. Go outside. Find beauty and what inspires you. Now go recreate that in various forms. It is remarkably easy to forget that and so reinvigorating to recapture. This class brought me back to sketching, looking at things in new ways and finding unexpected beauty.

I am old school. I would rather write with a pencil than a keyboard. The thought of working in Photoshop and Illustrator was paralyzing. That’s what my husband is for! He builds my website, turns my scribbles into sewing pattern booklets and everything else I need. I’m lucky to be checking email! Depending on him has handicapped me and made me lazy to learn. This course slowly gets your feet wet in these applications and allows you to gradually build on what you are learning. The pace was just right for me.

I am looking forward to the upcoming modules of this course. I have learned so much and have enjoyed being a part of the wonderful community that it has provided.

Image

Leave a Reply

