friends · painting · whichcraft?

Getting ready for New Moon… custom Twilight tees.

I can’t believe it’s almost here!! I cannot wait to see Edward+Bella in New Moon! The tickets have been bought, the party been had and of course we made up some t-shirts to wear to the midnight movie.

Of course, there had to be a lot of trial and error in the process. First, I tried printable iron-on transfer paper for dark fabric. Sounds easy enough, right?

twi shirt6

Wrong! This stuff ironed on with a solid white background. Not the effect I was going for. I don’t know how this stuff is supposed to work since the directions state to leave a 1/4 inch border around the image. I decided to try my iron-on transfer paper for light fabrics. I even ironed on a swatch first. The square on the left is for dark and the square on the right is for light. It irons on clear. Perfect…

twi shirt8

After printing the Cullen crest onto the transfer paper(in reverse), I cut it out and was excited to finally put my image on my brand new black shirt!

twi shirt7

Well, guess what. The image didn’t show up on the dark fabric. I hadn’t thought of that. Back to the drawing board.

twi shirt5

My last effort before buying one online was making a freezer stencil. You need your image, freezer paper, cutting mat and an exacto knife.

twi shirt4

This is the best way to trace your image onto the dull side of the freezer paper. You can also print directly on it.

twi shirt3

After carefully cutting it out, iron it onto your shirt with the shiny side down.

twi shirt2

Place a piece of cardboard inside your shirt to keep the paint from soaking thru. Paint a thin layer of fabric paint. Let it dry. Paint a thin layer of fabric glitter. Let it dry. Gently peel off the freezer paper. Admire it with a big smile on your face. 

twi shirt

And we’re ready to roll!

twi shirt9

4 thoughts on “Getting ready for New Moon… custom Twilight tees.

  1. WOOHOO! I can’t wait. Good job on the tshirts, by the way. Mine is still in pristine condition. Now I’m just trying to figure out what the pair it with… I don’t want Edward to be disappointed! 🙂

  2. Luke and I went to see the movie this weekend while his parents could watch the kids. Did you enjoy it? I’m going to have to re-read the books b/c I can’t remember what happens in 3 vs 4.

Leave a Reply

