reincarnate::giving old things new life::

traveling aromatherapy pet bed.

DSCN6404 copyWell… no, it wasn’t built for travel, but it is made from an old suitcase. I’ve been wanting to make this since I thrifted this back in October. I got the idea from the magazine, ReadyMade.

DSCN6398

I relined the inside. Basically, I measured and cut heavy stabilizer to fit the bottom and sides. Then fused fabric to it, quilting it for a nice handmade touch…so it didn’t look like it was just hot glued in- which it was.

DSCN6400

I made the cushion cover out of cozy chenille and totally removable for washing. This is the back of the cushion. I love the binding that I added to the edges. The cushion itself is filled with polyfill. For an added bonus I put about 5 cups of a dried lavendar and balsam mix. Those two scents together are so yummy! Rosemary, dried of course, would also work for dogs.

DSCN6395 copy

Tada!! Insert cute weinie dog here. I’m so glad to have that project off my chest! Get out there and go thrifting for some vintage luggage!!

3 thoughts on “traveling aromatherapy pet bed.

Leave a Reply

