feed me!!

I know you don’t care what I had for breakfast…

…but I made bagels!  bagels

It never occurred to me that anybody could. It was simpler than I had imagined and I can’t wait to try some new flavors. Try it out…

Cinnamon Whole Wheat  Egg Bagels

  • 3/4 c. lukewarm water
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tbl. sugar
  • 1 c. whole wheat flour
  • 2 c. all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. active dry yeast
  1. In a small bowl, add the sugar and yeast to the water. Let sit until yeast is dissolved. Mix all ingredients in a stand mixer or by hand until well incorporated. Empty dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead for about 10 minutes, until dough is smooth and uniform. Let rise for 20 minutes, or doubled in size.
  2. Punch down to remove air bubbles. Divide dough into 4 equal pieces and then divide each part into 3 pieces. Shape each piece into a smooth ball, punch a hole in center. Pull gently to make a 1-2 inch hole. Let rise 20 minutes.
  3. Bring 2 quarts water and 2 tbl. sugar to boiling. Place a few bagels at a time in boiling water. Simmer 3 minutes, turning each bagel once. Remove with a slotted spoon.
  4. Place on a greased cookie sheet. Brush with 1 slightly beaten egg white. Bake @ 375* for 25 minutes, or until golden brown. Remove from cookie sheet and cool.
  5. Slather with cream cheese and enjoy!
5 thoughts on “I know you don’t care what I had for breakfast…

  1. Thanks for sharing the recipe! They look wonderful. I would be tempted to throw in some raisins. Did you have to get up very early to make them for breakfast?

  2. Mmmm….I always loved bagels, but alas, they do not love me back! That is very cool. My friend Samantha is the only other person I know to make her own bagels, I’m WAY impressed, and of course I care what you have for breakfast! 🙂 We will be back from our trip tomorrow. Will we see at the Good Friday service? Love you!

Leave a Reply

