feed me!!

tutorial:: demystifying the springroll.

DSCN4490

Ok, ok. I may look like a total dork, but these springrolls are as my Mia says “delicious and nutritious”. Also known as “goi cuon”. Being Vietnamese, it’s surprising that I have only made this dish a few times. It always seemed so labor intensive and like there were a million ingredients to gather. But once you have your pantry stocked, it’s a piece of cake. But they will still never taste as good as mom’s.

First we have the sauce. Nuoc mam.

DSCN4475

  • 1 can of coconut soda, or you can use coconut juice.
  • 1/2 cup  fish sauce
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • thai chili pepper
  • juice of 1 lime

Mash the garlic and pepper with a mortar and pestle and mix with remaining ingredients. Keep in an AIRTIGHT container for up to one week.

DSCN4476

Have all of your ingedients chopped and ready. Rice noodles. Lettuce. Cucumber. Cilantro. Shrimp- deveined, boiled and sliced. I used leftover steak, but usually boiled pork is used.

DSCN4477

DSCN4482

Have a bowl of hot water ready to dip the rice paper into. Lightly wet the rice paper and lay it onto the surface where you will be rolling. Not too wet or it will be soggy.

DSCN4478

DSCN4481

DSCN4484

Start with the filling on the bottom edge. I like to place the lettuce and other veggies on 1st as a base. The worst thing you can do to a springroll is get greedy. It may feel natural to put more on, but you really don’t want it bursting at the seams. It might take a couple to find the balance.

DSCN4485

First, roll it up.

DSCN4486

Then, fold both sides in and finish rolling up.

DSCN4487

And there you have the first of many. It’s a fun dish to serve with close friends. Just talking and rolling. Rolling and talking. There are few things better.

13 thoughts on “tutorial:: demystifying the springroll.

  1. Mmmm I love spring rolls!! I made some last night!

    You won my giveaway by the way.. I need your address so i can send the prize to you!

    thanks… still loving the blog… Could your kids be any more adorable… and handsome of course.

  2. OK…first of all I love the picture! You seriously have a doll face!

    Second of all…remember I told you I am not good at cooking which brings me to my third point…when am I coming over to try these?? They look amazing!!

    By the way, the girls looked great in their costumes. The judge even commented on the sequins!! 🙂 You rock Cindy! You sew, cook and look cute. Just too much for me!

  3. Hi Doll Face! :o)

    Those look really yummy! I’m pretty sure the sauce would taste good drizzled over noodles or even stir fried with some chicken? WHEN am I going to make to a Asian grocery store?? Maybe over Christmas break. Nice apron, too. :o)

  4. You mean you don’t want that smell in your refrigerator all week?

    I’ve been trying to come up with yummy fasting food all week that wasn’t spaghetti or veggies on rice . . . I think I will take your lead on this and do some vegetarian versions with daikon, carrot, and mint and another with tofu, green papaya, cucumber, and juillenned green beans.

    Have you ever made green papaya salad? I like crunch, so I make 50/50 cucumber/green papaya salad. It is seriously yummy and spicy.

  5. Nah, you are adorable, love the apron (or skirt, though I’m guessing apron).

    Those look wonderful! I think I’m ordering from my local pho place & will get some spring rolls along with my soup tonight!

  6. Cindy,
    How wonderful. Now I can try and make them myself. I’ve been searching for the fresh spring rolls and no one has recommended a good restaurant yet. I’ll let you know how they come out.

Leave a Reply

