family · sewing · whichcraft?

Never. Say. Never.

Yes, yes, they finally did it to me. I bought “cartoon character” fabric. {{insert dramatic horror music here}} I never thought I would see that day come. Over the years I have stood strong when each of them BEGGED for Dora shoes or Sponge Bob t-shirts. What a mean mom I was to have my son wear plain ol’ tighty whities at such a young age! I don’t know why I have such a strong dislike for all things character embellished… but I do. I have made the statement that I would never sew anything out of “that kind” of fabric on more than one occasion.

And after all of these years, there we were. In the middle of Hancock’s. In the flannel section. Choosing between Barbie and Strawberry Shortcake. Well, I wasn’t about to let that little girl push me around! Barbie was out of the question! Those big brown eyes aren’t that cute. I must have asked if she was really sure half a dozen times before we got to the cutting counter!

DSCN3857

Well, here they are in all of their licensed character glory!! Pajamas, painless enough. It was a good feeling to see them so excited over them. Maybe Strawberry Shortcake isn’t so evil after all. But don’t go getting delusions of grandeur!! You won’t be finding any light up cartoon character shoes in this closet anytime soon!

7 thoughts on “Never. Say. Never.

  1. Are you sure? Because some Strawberry Shortcake fluffy slippers would look great. Oh – and a crown. Make ’em matching Strawberry Shortcake crowns!

    I can’t wait for part 2: Dora skirts. :o) I know how kids can wear you down!

  2. I don’t know how you can stand saying no to those cute little faces. I happen to love SS myself so i think they made the right choice. Hope to see more of these in the future. Dora??? My Little Pony??

  3. You made A wear tighty whities!?! What a poor deprived child! LOL! I think Cay’s first unders were Marie from The Aristocats movie, it was her main motivation, she was Marie obsessed. I have always been into them myself though, so I like all the character stuff. You are so nice to give the girly girls this little pleasure, I like Linda’s ideas for the crowns and slippers! LOL!

  4. OMG!! I seriously can’t tell you how much we have in common. If you ever see Luke in anything “charachter-ish”, you will know I have caved! I even refused “Cars” themed rain boots. I am such a bad mom. Again, if I don’t think it is pretty darn cute- he isn’t getting it. Well,,,, unless it is from his Grandmother (yikes!).

    *Those PJ’s (and of course, the girls) are adorable!!!!

Leave a Reply

