friends · going places

To Market, To Market

To market, to market to Houston we went;
Home again, home again, jiggety-jent.
To market, to market, both Linda and I;
Home again, home again, jiggety-jye.

I had the pleasure of going to Quilt Market yesterday in Houston. We were like giddy school girls! It was so exciting to be able to go. By ourselves!! I don’t get many chances to enjoy myself without the whole famoo.(family, in case you don’t know what a famoo is) I had such a great time walking around at my own pace. Here are a few highlights from Market.

We snapped a couple of photos with Heather Bailey.  She is actually crouching down a bit. She is tall! Not to mention stylish and beautiful. She seemed like a really sweet person.

DSCN2486

This is our little masked crusader at the Michael Miller booth where her patterns and products were displayed. I felt like such a proud Mama. I was so excited for her.

DSCN2487

This was the highlight of the day. We got a new signed copy of Amy Butler’s book and a good photo. Do I look dorkily happy enough? Why is everyone so tall? Is it me?

DSCN2488

We met a couple of new designers that really stood out. Tina Givens , who is with Free Spirit, had some really gorgeous and vibrant new fabrics coming out. She was a really lovely lady.

cindy003

I didn’t catch her name, but we met this cute Japanese Jersey Girl whose line was Hoodie’s. She had some amazing patterns and worked wonders with a collection of really great vintage fabrics.

cindy001

We also stopped by Leisl’s booth, Oliver + S. Her patterns and packaging are a cut above the rest. I loved the vintage concept with a modern flair. I will definitely be testing those patterns out!

cindy002

I loved looking at people’s booth space. It is amazing to me how they transform nothing into these beautiful spaces. I wish I had some pics, but I was too busy being in awe. Amy Butler’s had a cool lounge feel. Tina Givens’ space was fun and elegant in browns and whites. Oliver + S’ was clean, crisp and fun.

I had an amazing time and I can’t wait to go again. It was worth the trek. Nine hours of driving, but I could have went a few more. There’s no one else I would have rather went with. I guess your prayer worked?!

7 thoughts on “To Market, To Market

  1. Woo-hoo! What fun, huh? I found Hoodie’s site today and she has a blog. I wish I had talked to her more – she is so sweet – and I love my postcard! I think I need MORE talent. I want to be able to draw. Maybe I can buy some talent someplace?

  2. Hi Cindy! I finally managed to find your blog….kept getting error 404 whenever I tried clicking on your name in the comments. Thanks so much for popping by my blog and leaving such nice words. And those gocco printers are the best! I’d say its my fave craft toy of the moment. There’s a few sellers on etsy who’ll ship it to you. If you don’t mind, I’ll just stickybeak around your blog a bit more, since its nice. Cheerio!

  3. What a great time! I don’t think I could handle being around all that creativity in one place!

    How great that Linda’s goods are in a trade show. Just awesome!

Leave a Reply

