random revelations · sewing · whichcraft?

On Mass Production

DSCN2425

I’ve been doing a little mass production of my own. These are the last of the hooded towels that I had planned to make for an upcoming craft show. But something in me says that I need more. I’m always in a shortage of boys’ things.  A friend called to tell me that Target now has hooded towels for $11. Geez! When I first started making these towels, they were not as widespread as they are now. The only store that I knew of was Neiman’s.  Now they are everywhere. And for chump change! I just cannot compete with these big stores, unless I just start giving stuff away. And believe me, I do my fair share of that already. But those mass produced products don’t have the same personality and quality that handcrafted items do. My style is sophisticated and chic and theirs is just generic baby style. If you can call it style. I find excitement in owning something that I know few people have. The hard part is that it is rare to find people who appreciate that and are willing to pay more for it. Being frugal myself, I totally understand that. But there just comes a time when we should support the people we care about instead of continuing to fill these people’s pockets just to save a couple of bucks. And by people we care about, I’m talking about local artisans who are just trying to put a piece of themselves out in this world and the stay-at-home moms who are putting their many talents to work.

6 thoughts on “On Mass Production

  1. I agree with you whole heartedly. I often question why I even make bags when I see something similar in Target for more than half what I charge, but then I remember that when I make something I’m making it out of pleasuse. I think some of that enjoyment goes into the piece I make, and is then passed on. I don’t want people who don’t appreciate handcraftsanship to own my products. I think your hooded towels will be a hit! Keep doing what you’re doing 😉

  2. It is a bummer to make something and then realize that someone can buy it at target or wallyworld for half the price—or less! But I have found that people still buy things in spite of that. I think that the high-quality fabrics and the one-of-a-kind appeal is what sells something.

  3. Your towels are beautiful!! Like you, I feel the same way about the mass produced items of the world. As one who strives for unique and different, I think you should stay true to your heart and keep going forward, Target may have towels but they are not as beautiful as yours. 🙂

  4. I hear you sister! Sorry for having to break the bad news to you, but I knew you’d want to know. Yours do have style, though and are beautifully unique.

    Sorry I couldn’t call you back today. I was headaching. I didn’t even call my mom back! *sigh*

  5. What great projects! I love the journal cover. I’ll have to try that one. You did a great job on it. I’ll be back for another visit to see what you’re working on.

Leave a Reply

