feather my nest · sewing · whichcraft?

A Space of My Own

DSCN2419

I am finally starting to get my sewing room in order. David and I painted it this weekend and put up some shelves. It is a beautiful color from Martha Stewart @ Lowe’s called Blue Agave. It is very reminiscent of a robin’s egg. Although my husband said that it looks like a giant Tiffany & Co box. How the heck would he know? I wanted a little something on the walls that was very subtle. Something with an organic feel. I originally wanted silhouettes of branches and maybe a bird. I started doing it in chalk first, then decided that maybe it was a little too trendy for this purpose. After all, I probably won’t get a chance to paint over it any time soon. So I decided on peacock feathers.

DSCN2420

I love them!! Despite what David says. They remind him of fish bones. That’s the problem and solution with us. He works in the corporate world and can be so commercial at times, where as my taste is sort of eclectic. But the good thing is that we balance each other out very well. He keeps me from going off the deep end. Anyway, I love my room and love to be in there. Still more work to do. Shelves, shelves, and more shelves!

DSCN2413

This is a bag that has been on my to do list for quite awhile. It’s a laptop messenger bag for my little sister in NYC. I love and am surprised atthe way it turned out. After all, this is the 3rd bag that I have made in my life! I made my own quilted fabric from brown corduroy and a great geometric print from the Fall Back in Time line from Moda. I put her initial on the front inspired by the one and only Sally Shim. My sister is going to love it! There are so many things I would have done differently. It was way too thick to sew through. I have a new record for the number of needles I broke on a single project. Happy Halloween, Happy Thanksgiving, Merry Christmas, Happy Birthday…. you get the idea!

DSCN2422

DSCN2045

I’m also sending her this mini patchfolio, and one of my new dog towels. The newest member to the Revel family. All wrapped up in the Urban Shopper, which I constructed using a rice sack. Jen, you get the cookies when you come for Christmas!

6 thoughts on “A Space of My Own

  1. Your sewing room is such a pretty shade! I need some shelves in my sewing space, but I don’t have anywhere to put them. Ya think that’s a sign that I have too much stuff? Never!

    Great job on the bag!!

  2. CINDY….everything looks so good. U can’t believe you slaved over a sewing machine day & night for me and Chico. We love it…well maybe not Chico, because that means he will have to take a bath!

Leave a Reply

