random revelations

Now I know my ABC’s… or everything you never knew you wanted to know about me.

I’ve had to take an unexpected blog break and now I am rushing to get out of town. But before I go, I want to finish my meme. I know it’s just a bit long, but this is more for my own benefit. I set out to do this alphabet, and by George I’m gonna do it!

J- jalopy (ja lop’i) noun. a dilapidated, aged vehicle. Definitely what my body has been feeling like lately. I just turned 32, but my real age is probably much older. I have been having some back pain, which is very unusual for me(outside of labor…. which is definitely not the case!) I have always been a night owl, and my body is not agreeing with that anymore. I have never been one to consciously think about taking care of my body. I feel a new era coming on. Here’s to vitamins, early bedtimes, and bending my knees when I lift my toddler!

K- kitsch… what the heck is it and do I like it? I keep hearing this term being thrown around and still am not understanding the concept. I don’t know if it’s because so many people are using the term when it does not fit. I think it’s one of those hip terms at the moment and being over-utilized.

DSCN2074

DSCN2075

DSCN2076

L- letting go– Today is my son’s 1st day of 5th grade. To me, it seems like the bridge to so many new things. Independence, noticing girls, puberty. When did my little boy grow up so fast? I just need to realize his need to start being independent. I also need to let go of the idea of not having another baby. I know that 3 is good for us, but I think the thought of not having a baby running around is getting to me. What will that feel like? I’m sure I’ll enjoy it when the time comes, but for now, I just can’t imagine it.

M- Music has always been a part of my life. From trying to hit every note with Olivia Newton John’s Physical at age 6 to leaning on different hymns for reflection and understanding in my life now. I think it has shaped alot of who I am and the experiences I have been through. When I was growing up, you made friends by the type of music you listened to. I don’t know if that continues to happen because of the wide array of music available in the mainstream now. But I was into “new wave”, and that was kind of out there for my small Texas town at the time. I grew up too fast in the circle of friends I was in. From new wave came techno and raves, which gets you into clubbing at an early age, among other things. And I won’t bother to mention hairstyles and hair color! It was fun, but I know I will not be letting my kids follow in my footsteps.

N- Not Selling Out– I really enjoy having sewing as a creative outlet. I know I could sell more making certain popular items. Maybe with characters or themes that I am not into. I will just not give in to that. I will never create something that I myself would not use. That may not be the best business scenario, but if I am not enjoying what I am doing, then I’m just not going to do it. I hope to create things that I love and hopefully someone else will love it, too.

O- Object of my affection– That would be David. The greatest man that I have ever married. Well, the only one. But I didn’t always think that would be the case. I grew up thinking I would be married more than once. Product of a broken home, I guess. I never knew love until David. He has taught me so much about loving someone and being loved. Never have I known someone so giving and forgiving. He has shown me over and over that I deserve to be loved and what commitment really means. I am so grateful for him in my life. And every day uncovers new reasons why I love this man. If you’ve ever seen the movie Swept Away, you’d see what my fantasy is. Trapped on an island with him. It’s been quite a journey with him so far. Poor guy! He’s been through a lot with me. But he’s still here… and I know he always will be. To a lifetime of happiness!

P- Patchwork Life– My life has been like a beautiful patchwork quilt. Looking at each little piece may seem a little horrid or out of place. But when you stand back and look at everything as a whole, they all come together to tell a wondrous story. I’ve had a lot of experiences so far,good and bad. And I can’t really say that I regret any of it. I am so grateful to be able to learn from it all. Not only for my benefit, but for my children, as well.

Q- quart– the amount of fat that could be sucked out of one of my thighs during a liposuction session.

R- revel(rev’el)noun. to engage in riotous merrymaking; to take great delight in

S- Sew Much Fun!! I create, therefore I am. Idle hands are the devil’s plaything. Whatever the quote, the bottom line is that I love to make things. My earliest craft venture that I can remember was when I was about 7. We were living in the Philippines, and I wanted a fire during Christmas. Well, I don’t think I need to tell anyone that we didn’t have a fireplace in the Philippines. So I decided to make my own. I gathered cardboard, crayons, glue, and a knife to cut with. I did a bang up job, and have been creating ever since. I think I’ve used everything except oil paints. Love it all!

DSCN2079

T- Travel Diaper and Wipes Case– I have not been using a diaper bag for some time now, but my youngest is still in diapers. There is usually a few diapers along with a ziploc bag of wipes thrown into my already unorganized purse. This is great to pop into my bag or drop off at the nursery. This is my latest favorite fabric combo. Both are Amy Butler.

U- uncouth… the more I think about it, the more it fits. Embrace your inner dork.

V- vacillate… that’s me trying to decorate my house.

W- Wine,an art form in itself. I used to work at a winery and remember those times as some of the greatest of my life. I tried to start up a little wine and food pairing course, but it proved to be too much for me. I was cooking 4 courses for around 50 people and speaking. There was much more to it than I had thought. I had friends acting as my servers… they were just in it for the free food and booze. Running back and forth from the kitchen to the front of the house making sure everything was just right. Oh, it was a whirlwind but so much fun! I could have made a fortune, but only ended up doing it twice.

X- X-cavation, X-amine, X-cel…  This meme has made me reflect on where I have been and where I am going in my life.

Y- Yammer. ooooh. I think I do that a lot. Note to self. I gotta stop that.

Z- Zee you soon!! Sorry, I couldn’t do any better than that. I have 2 days to get this house in order and to pack for me and my daughter, Mia. We are off on our Alaskan adventure. Ready to set sail. Ready to yell “Mush!” on the dog sled. Ready to get out of this Texas heat. Can’t wait to go, but I’m already missing my husband and 2 other children. Be back soon!

3 thoughts on “Now I know my ABC’s… or everything you never knew you wanted to know about me.

  1. So interesting to learn more about you! Ya know, when I was about 5 I made a cardboard fireplace complete with logs and a fire for my bedroom at christmas time. I even hung paper stockings from it – too funny!
    I can not tell you how long I have been wanting to make one of those diaper & wipes cases. I’ve been thinking about making one for a gift, which makes perfect sense considering my recent pouch love.

  2. I loved reading every letter!! You are a complex and fascinating lady!!! What a blessing it is having you for a friend! Have a great time on the cruise….you will be missed. Can’t wait to hear about it upon your return! I will live vicariously through you. Love, Lizzie

Leave a Reply

