feed me!!

tutorial:: F is for Fortune Cookies

DSCN1919

Tonight we had friends over for dinner with an Asian theme. I made stir fry, egg rolls, and fortune cookies! I have not made them in years and forgot how simple they are. It was fun creating the fortunes and watching the kids’ (and adults’) faces when I pulled them out. They are some of the simplest cookies and everyone will think that you slaved in the kitchen all day.

  • 5 tbl unsalted butter
  • 4 lg egg whites
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1 c. flour, sifted
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 tbl heavy cream
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  1. preheat oven to 400.
  2. melt butter.
  3. combine egg whites and sugar in electric mixer for about 30 seconds.
  4. add flour and salt and beat to combine.
  5. add butter, cream, and almond extract and beat for 30 seconds.
  6. pour 1 tablespoon of batter onto *very well greased cookie sheet.   spread into a 5 inch thin circle. 4 circles should fit onto cookie sheet.
  7. bake for 7 – 8 minutes, or until edges are golden brown.
  8. remove cookie from baking sheet and immediately loosely fold in half. ** insert index fingers into ends, press into the bottom center and fold cookie into fortune cookie shape. hurry, because they will harden fast. be careful! very hot!***; ****

 

 

DSCN1917

 

* I love using silpats or exopats. They are like permanent parchment paper made from silicone. Definitely worth the cost. I never grease cookie sheets and nothing ever sticks to them.

** This is the part where I insert the fortune. Use a width of about 1/2 an inch and a length of at least 2 inches. I just print my fortunes and cut them out.

DSCN1918

*** I have also been known to roll them into cigar shapes instead of the fortune cookie. roll them around a chopstick or something similar. dip them in chocolate and roll them in sprinkles, toffee pieces, or nuts. or leave them plain. either way it will be a total KO!

**** the darker cookies are chocolate fortune cookies. i added 1 tbl of Ghiradelli baking cocoa to the last half of the batter.

DSCN1922

This is what I whipped up during naptime today. My daughter and I will be heading off to an Alaskan cruise at the end of the month, so I thought we needed a couple of passport covers. This little project still needs some perfecting. But hopefully, when I make hers I can overcome the obstacles.

DSCN1925

I used fusible interfacing to give it a some body. Storage, storage, and more storage. A pocket to slip your passport into. A place for credit cards. And yet 4 more pockets for cash or itinerary. I think I may add some to my shop after I get all the kinks worked out. And I was thinking a detachable lanyard to go with it. I don’t know if many people would be interested in it, but I know I’m excited to use mine!

3 thoughts on “tutorial:: F is for Fortune Cookies

  1. The “Don’t eat me” fortune is my favorite, too cute! I love your passport cover. I’ve been wanting to tackle a wallet type project for a while, but all those layers aren’t making me too enthusiastic about it all!

  2. I still can’t believe you made your own fortune cookies! And they look great – better than the ones in the plastic bags, that’s for sure.

    Your passport holder looks great – not exactly the picture I had in my head! But I think I need to look at it more closely to wrap my brain around it’s construction. And I didn’t know they had a blockbuster on Alaskan cruise ships! :o)

  3. That’s awesome that you made your own fortune cookies. And I like the passport holder – it looks helpful to keep all of the important documents together. Have fun on your cruise. I went on one to Alaska when I was a teenager and it had some of the most beautiful scenery I’ve ever seen.

Leave a Reply

