music · sewing · whichcraft?

D is for Death Cab for Cutie Quilt

Death Cab for Cutie!!!

DSCN1895

I made my husband this quilt for his 34th birthday. It is one of our favorite bands and such a source of inspiration.I first heard them on one of The O.C. soundtracks( which by the way are all good). It wasn’t until we saw them in concert, in Las Vegas, that I totally fell in love with them. They gave out so much energy and it was really one of the best shows I have ever been to. If you have never heard their music… you need to. The lead singer has one of those voices that I instantly fall in love with. Both the music and lyrics are amazing. So poetic and full of imagery.

DSCN1897

I wish that I could share each square. They each mean something to me, but I’ll just share a few. I got to play around with so many different techniques and just had so much fun making this. It did turn out to be a much bigger project than I had anticipated. But to translate songs onto the squares, I needed a lot of space. So this is my homage to Death Cab for Cutie. It’s a little bit country, a little bit rock n’ roll.

DSCN1902

Technicolor Girls– I took photos of my 2 girls and printed a psychedelic version of them onto iron on paper. I love that I could incorporate our kids into this gift for him.

DSCN1903

Styrofoam Plates– a small piece of this cool song on iron on printer paper appliqued onto a combination of Amy Butler fabric and dirty denim

DSCN1896

My take on their album cover, Transatlanticism

DSCN1901

Photo Booth– a cute little handmade Polaroid

DSCN1900

Soul Meets Body- a beautiful silhouette of a photo bordered by fun fabric

DSCN1898

I’ll Follow You into the Dark– Free motion satin stitched tree with 2 little love birds appliqued on. The name of the song is embroidered onto a separate piece and stitched on. I just love that look.

DSCN1907

All Is Full of Love– a photo that I took- I am so proud of that because I probably take the worst photos ever

DSCN1899

Summer Skin– I had so much fun with this one. Appliqued grass, fleece fireflies, and a jar made from ribbon.

DSCN1910

DSCN1909

Transatlanticism– I made a little button up piece that has lyrics from the song on the inside.

DSCN1906

And of course, I have to show my cool little guitar!

DSCN1908

The rest of this quilt is full of beautiful bits and pieces from thier songs. I bordered and backed it with a dark brown corduroy. It is so soft and gives it a lived in look. I had so much fun with this. It was a little challenging making it manly and finding manly fabrics to put on it. I listened to Deathcab the whole time I worked on this and they were so inspiring. The best part is that my favorite person in the whole world gets to enjoy it. And I know he will!

2 thoughts on “D is for Death Cab for Cutie Quilt

  1. Wow, Cindy – I can’t believe you’ve gotten all that done in just the last couple of weeks! It really shows a lot of your skill. I see the mitreing around the photo booth. And VERY cool tree branches.

    :o)

Leave a Reply

