going places · reincarnate::giving old things new life::

C is for Canton, Texas

canton3

I have been waiting for this day for so long! A friend and I went to Canton’s First Monday Market. It was about an hour and a half drive. It was so overwhelming. I have always wanted to go and couldn’t sleep a wink last night.

canton2

I love flea markets!! There were miles and miles of lost treasures to be found. And of course, I wanted to search every mile. Well, I think we did pretty good. Despite the hot and humid weather, we trudged up and down booths searching for who knows what. At times, I got a little discouraged. Everything seemed to be so overpriced, but as the day went on that problem solved itself. There was so much cool stuff, but not a place for it in my home. The only thing I really didn’t like was the sale of new products. As Seen on Tv types of things, crafts, and plastic made in Taiwan items. Great if I was planning on going to a craft show or the dollar store, but I was on a mission.

It was so extremely hot that we both resorted to buying some fabric contraption soaked in ice water from a cooler. You wear it around your neck and it’s filled with some sort of gel substance. It looked and felt like the stuff you find in diapers after they are really wet. Of course, I don’t have any pics of that. The fabric choices weren’t exactly stylin’. She chose one with a lovely display of John Deere green tractors. And I chose to go the patriotic route and opted for an amazingly country American flag motif. Needless to say, it was Texas in August and I would have done just about anything to cool off!

canton4

I came home with things that I never knew I needed.I found a cute little dresser that will go in the sewing room. And a bookshelf to go in there, as well. And tons of old Golden Books. I couldn’t come home empty handed for the famoo.

canton5

I found this set of pineapple-artichoke-dried leaf-finial things. Who knows what they really are, but after a coat of black spray paint, I can call them mine!

canton6

I was hoping to find a set of vintage bocce balls, but settled for this set of billiard balls. Put them in a cool bowl and WHALAH- great table decor for the game room.

Overall, I had a great time treasure hunting with a good friend. I usually like to shop alone, but thoroughly enjoyed the company. Sometimes it’s good to be able to bounce ideas off of each other. I’m ready to go back when the heat stroke wears off.

6 thoughts on “C is for Canton, Texas

  1. What? You like to shop alone? Who would be there to say, “Just buy it.” If you shopped alone??? :o)

    It was a fun, fun, day! Thanks for taking me! I just wish my body didn’t break down on the way home. *sigh* I feel so old…

  2. just found your blog thru craft apple. you know, i live in arlington & i have NEVER been to canton! i always want to go, but then it’s either too hot, or too many committments…or it’s too hot! LOL

  3. i absolutly love Canton! Me and my husband make it a point to go at least 2 or 3 times a year. It really is fun, even if you don’t buy anything. Unlike you I love the handmade crafts! There are so many unique on-of-a-kind things you can find if you are looking for crafts. My kids favorite part are the animals. There really is something there for everyone. If you haven’t gone, I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

