family · sewing · whichcraft?

Boxes, Babies, and Backpacks

Ahhh! Time to do some much needed blogging!!

Well, time is quickly running out!! As of this coming Monday, this house will no longer be ours. Our first house! It is finally how I want it, and now we are leaving. I’m getting sad. So many memories. I painted this whole house. And now it is as if I am living in a surreal world of giant building blocks. Boxes everywhere. The kids are driving me mad, because there is nothing much to play with. Their world is also turned upside-down. But at least I still have my sewing machine. It makes me feel somewhat normal. I won’t be packing that until the very last minute.

bath stamp

In the midst of the madness, I have been able to do a few things. I finished my cards for the hand carved stamped recipe card swap set up by moki. She has a really cool tutorial. They didn’t come out exactly as planned. I carved a word in my stamp. But to my disappointment, when I tested it the word was backwards. Too bad, better luck next time. It was my first pancake. Tastes good, but not too pretty. But I had a great time doing it with a good friend. And hopefully she will sign on as well. It’s not too late to sign up. They are due June 21, and I did mine in 1 day.

back packbackpacks

 I have also been busy making a few gifts. These backpacks are made from the cutest quilted fabric. They are polka dotted on the inside! Two of them are going to a couple of really sweet little girls. Not mine. There are other sweet girls, you know. It is so much fun to make new things. I keeping stepping away from my comfort zone, slowly but surely.

changing pad 1changing pad 2

This was my attempt at working with oilcloth. I love the stuff, but it’s aggravating. I think I need to either get a Teflon sewing foot or use my stabilizer, but I am too cheap. Have fun with it Megan!! Sewing right sides together is no problem, it’s the decorative stitching that bites. This is a place mat/ changing pad. Either or, not both!! I loved the idea of a place mat, because the little kiddies are always eating off of the table at restaurants-gross!! The oilcloth is great because you can just wipe it off and roll it up.I used to bring cut up pieces of contact paper and stick it right on the table. Not good on some tables!! I love the print on this. The pink is so soft and subtle.

Nap Pillow

I have been practicing working with patterns-honing my skill! Amy Butler’s are really user friendly. This is the Big Nap Pillow. Oh, how I love using scraps!!! Scraps is such an ugly word. Small pieces of beautiful fabric too good to throw away. That’s better. Thanks to Linda, I think the Ditty Bag is next. My experience with patterns is that when you are scatterbrained, it is nice to be told what to do.

yummy apple
This is my 2 year old eating an apple as big as her head. She won’t let me cut it up, because she likes to eat it BIG!! A girl who knows what she wants. Too bad it isn’t always in sync with what I want.

I will try not to let my posts get too far apart. My goal is everyday, but I am working up to that. I am still getting used to the typepad system. I can never get my pictures exactly where I want them or stop the text from wrapping around them. If anyone has some user friendly tips, I would appreciate them!! Have a wonderful and inspiring day!!

6 thoughts on “Boxes, Babies, and Backpacks

  1. I can’t beleive you’ve been making stuff when your about to move. Yes I’d love to do a swap with you. It will have to be next month, June as I’m doing one this month with lindiepindie of craft apple. You should get my email address with this comment. Email me and you can tell me what sort of stuff you’d like.

  2. I can’t beleive you’ve been making stuff when your about to move. Yes I’d love to do a swap with you. It will have to be next month, June as I’m doing one this month with lindiepindie of craft apple. You should get my email address with this comment. Email me and you can tell me what sort of stuff you’d like.

  3. Holy productivity! That’s a lot of stuff you’ve made and all of it looks great! The placemat is a great idea and I too, love oilclothe but haven’t really been able to think of much to do with.Hmm. The nap pillow looks wonderful.

  4. Yikes – that was about FIVE posts rolled into one! You are so productive – you really COULD post everyday! The nap pillow is so cute, and the backpacks turned out really well!

  5. Don’t get all hung up about posting everyday. This whole blogging thing should be about you and be fun, not stressful. I really should listen to my own advice!!! All your projects look wonderful, love the little backbacks and the little model is just adorable! I hear you about the cut up apples. So much gets wasted when they try to eat them whole.

Leave a Reply

