A Break from the Mayhem

December 14, 2007 at 12:48 pm | Posted in cleaning and organizing, decoupage | 12 Comments

After frantically sewing so many gifts, I’m feeling a little burnt out. Yes, I love to sew, but with a deadline, it’s starting to feel a little too much like work. So I decided to take the day off from Santa’s workshop and work on something that has been laying on my floor for a month or so.

DSCN2648

These are a set of drawers that I picked up from Ikea. I finally got around to putting them together. After painstakingly cutting out paper to go on each drawer, I used Mod Podge to attach the Amy Butler scrapbook paper to the fronts of the drawers. The first couple didn’t quite go as planned. I used the Mod Podge without diluting it to attach the paper to the drawer and put Mod Podge on the front without letting it dry first. This created bubbles, even though I ran over the front with a straight edge to get the air bubbles out. So I decided to let the glue dry before I covered the entire fronts. I love the way they turned out. The Mod Podge creates a shiny, but not too glossy, coat over the paper.

DSCN2650

And the best thing is that the drawers are completely reversible! My girls are having loads of fun deciding what design they want to create. This was my 1st successful attempt at decoupage, and I can’t wait to try it again. Next time using fabric.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. SUPER-DUPER cute! Don’t you just love ModPodge? I don’t use it often – mostly because of the mess (I tend to drip ModPodge on everything). But it’s so easy!

    And is that wood unfinished? You could so ModPodge the top and sides. :o)

  2. This is absolutely a fantastic idea. So creative. I love that Amy Butler paper too. Her fabric is equally awesome.

    Happy holidays!

  3. They are gorgeous and you make me want to pop open the mod podge! ;-)

  4. turned out adorable! Love it! Mod Podge rocks!

    with friendship,
    Lisa

  5. So cute! What a great idea… I need someone like you to come over here and help me recreate my sewing studio, lol.

  6. These turned out beautiful! What a great idea:)

  7. those are so coolio. i wish i was as creative as you but im not.

  8. Where are you? I keep calling and checking your blog. I hope you are well and not buried underneath all your Christmas crafting materials.

    You know I think you’re the domestic-crafty genius! Great job on the mod podge!

    Hope to catch up with you soon.

  9. Oh, by the way. Our e-mail is corrected on this one.

  10. these are fabulous! what a great idea!

  11. I just ran across your blog and saw this and I fell in love with it. So as I was reading it I noticed that you said something about diluting the mod podge can you give me any tips on this to make this turn out as amazing as yours is.

    Fairy blessings,
    Sheila

  12. Do you have seams in the paper on these drawers?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 574 other followers

